made by Dia

instagram.com/p/lhYysWtqwR/#wateraid instagram.com/p/lgWznkMYtQ/#wavesforwater instagram.com/p/lSmCl2GhGo/#estherhavens instagram.com/p/e2YutXuha0/#arni_coraldo instagram.com/p/kowk_oDTQP/#balazsgardi

instagram:

World Water Day 2014 on Instagram

For more photos and videos from World Water Day around the world, browse the #waterday and #worldwaterday hashtags.

Around the world, 1.2 billion people—nearly a fifth of the planet—lack access to clean water. To call attention to the plight, the United Nations designated March 22 as World Water Day. Here are just a few of the many people and organizations on Instagram working to raise awareness about water issues around the globe:

  • water.org (@water) - Working with hundreds of communities in Africa, South Asia and Central America to provide access to safe water and sanitation. Collaborating with Benjamin Heath (@benjaminheath), Steph Goralnick (@sgoralnick) and Simone Bramante (@brahmino) to share scenes from Kenya on Instagram.
  • Balazs Gardi (@balazsgardi) - Photojournalist who has spent the past decade documenting the effects of the unfolding global water crisis.
  • charity: water (@charitywater) - A non-profit organization on a mission to bring clean and safe drinking water to every person on the planet. Currently working with Vik Muniz (@vikmuniz) and Students Rebuild (@studentsrebuild) to bring clean water to over 16,000 people in Tanzania.
  • Corey Arnold (@arni_coraldo) - Photographer and fisherman documenting glaciers for Project Pressure (@projectpressure) to create the world’s first interactive glacier archive in order to better understand climate change.
  • Hurley H2O (@hurley_h2o) - Hurley’s water initiative striving alongside Waves for Water (@wavesforwater) to provide clean water for everyone.
  • WaterAid (@wateraid) - Bringing water, sanitation and hygiene education to where it is needed most for over 30 years.
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (@montereybayaquarium) - California aquarium with a mission to inspire conservation of the oceans.

World Water Day

Vanishing point

Vanishing point

Golden Horn, Istanbul
Fishermans on Galata Bridge

Golden Horn, Istanbul

Fishermans on Galata Bridge

Imagine a butterfly is flying towards that mist… {iPhone has a quite successful cam and app.s, | taken and retouched with 5s}

Imagine a butterfly is flying towards that mist… {iPhone has a quite successful cam and app.s, | taken and retouched with 5s}

cubbygraham:

Kids being Kids in Orissa, India - a village that used to be marked by sickness is now healthy because of the generosity of people and the impact that clean water has on a community. www.charitywater.org

cubbygraham:

Kids being Kids in Orissa, India - a village that used to be marked by sickness is now healthy because of the generosity of people and the impact that clean water has on a community. www.charitywater.org

Whirling Dervishes, Seb-i Arus 2013

Whirling Dervishes, Seb-i Arus 2013

Whirling Dervishes / 2013

Whirling Dervishes / 2013